Two top Baltimore Police officials resign following Commissioner's termination

Two high-ranking Baltimore police officials have resigned.

The resignations follow Mayor Catherine Pugh's firing of Police Commissioner Kevin Davis last week.

Deputy Commissioner Jason Johnson and Chief Ganesha Martin have both chosen to resign and Commissioner-Designate Darryl De Sousa said in a statement he accepted their resignations with gratitude for their years of service. He will define new organizational structure and command staff of the department.

Both officials were in charge of instituting police reform as part of the consent decree.

The decree mandates sweeping reforms after a Justice Department report outlined widespread abuse and misconduct in the department.

In a statement the police department said:

The change in administrative personnel has no bearing our commitment to the reforms that are being implemented by the monitor or on our responsiveness to the consent decree. At the same time, Captain Rhonda McCoy is currently the acting-commander of the compliance unit and is fully engaged with monitoring process as she has since the beginning of the consent decree process.

Print this article Back to Top