Maryland's Congressional delegation defends seats in Primary

Posted at 11:42 PM, Jun 26, 2018
and last updated 2018-06-26 23:42:53-04

Several members of Maryland’s congressional contingent advanced to the general election, either defending their seats against primary challengers or enjoying an unopposed primary run.

Democratic U.S. Senator Ben Cardin continued his perfect electoral run, winning the primary handedly in the first called race of the night in Maryland. He will face Tony Campbell, the winner of the Republican Senatorial Primary, in a race where Cardin will be heavily favored.

Maryland’s lone Republican at the national level, incumbent Representative Andy Harris advanced in the race for U.S. House District 1.

In District 2, Democrat C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger defended his seat.

John Sarbanes topped a field of four in District 3’s Democratic Primary.

Democrat Anthony Brown was unopposed in his District 4 race.

Steny Hoyer retains the Democratic ticket in District 5. 

With sitting congressman John Delaney not running this year, District 6 will see a new face. Amie Hoeber, the winner of the Republican Primary, will take on David Trone, the winner of the Democratic Primary.

Elijah Cummings continued his long tenure representing District 7, trouncing four Democratic Primary challengers. 

District 8 will see Democrat Jim Raskin advance to November's election.