Hogan lifts state of emergency in 8 counties

Posted at 5:35 PM, Oct 02, 2015
and last updated 2015-10-02 17:35:53-04

Maryland Gov. Larry Hogan Friday lifted the statewide state of emergency in eight counties: Garrett, Allegany, Washington, Frederick, Carroll, Montgomery, Howard, and Prince George's.

Protect yourself from dangerous weather 24/7, download ABC2's STORM SHIELD APP! -  iOS | Android

Hogan issued a state of emergency earlier in the week because of the threat posed by a powerful coast storm coupled with Hurricane Joaquin.

“This allows the state to efficiently coordinate resources between jurisdictions to support response operations,” according to a release from the governor’s office.

In a statement, Hogan said:

"With the storm moving away from our coasts, we are directing state resources to the counties and areas with the highest potential to need assistance. However, the majority of the state still remains under a state of emergency and rain and wind gusts could cause power outages and flooding in low-lying areas. We continue to encourage Marylanders to use common sense and look after family members and neighbors who might need help during this time."