TrafficTraffic News


Snow Emergency Plans declared in several Maryland counties

Posted at 10:25 AM, Feb 20, 2019
and last updated 2019-02-20 10:36:01-05

As snow continues to fall at a rapid rate across most of the state, Maryland State Police have begun declaring Snow Emergency Plans for several Maryland counties.

As of 5:00 a.m. Wednesday, such a weather emergency was declared in Frederick County. By 8:00 a.m. Baltimore County also fell under such a plan. Carroll County was added at 8:15 a.m. By 8:30 a.m., Howard, Allegany, Garrett, Washington, St. Mary's, Montgomery, and Prince George's Counties all had declarations as well.

The declarations require certain precautions by law, police said, including:

  • Prohibited parking on roads and streets designated as snow emergency routes.
  • Required use of snow/tires, “all weather” tires, or snow chains. Studded tires are allowed between November 1 and March 31.

State Police will be out on area roadways to ensure safe travel and assist drivers, but they ask residents and drivers not to call police for road or weather conditions, as it may tie up the lines for more pressing emergencies. Real time travel information can be found at the Maryland 511 website.

In Frederick County the following roads were designated as Snow Emergency Routes:

  • U.S. Route 15
  • U.S. Route 15 (Business)
  • U.S. Route 40
  • U.S. Route 40 (Alternate)
  • U.S. Route 340
  • MD Route 17
  • MD Route 26
  • MD Route 27
  • MD Route 28
  • MD Route 31
  • MD Route 75
  • MD Route 76
  • MD Route 79
  • MD Route 80
  • MD Route 85
  • MD Route 140
  • MD Route 144FA
  • MD Route 180
  • MD Route 194
  • Interstate 70
  • Interstate 270