Post position and odds announced for 2018 Preakness field

Posted at 5:35 PM, May 16, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-16 18:16:13-04

The post positions for the eight horses running the 2018 Preakness Stakes, were announced during Wednesday afternoon's draw ceremony at Pimlico Race Course. Odds for each horse were also announced. 

The field will align in the following order for the Saturday evening post time. 

1 • QUIP (12-1)
Owner: WinStar Farm LLC, China Horse Club International Ltd., SF Racing LLC
Trainer: Rodolphe Brisset
Jockey: Florent Geroux

2 • LONE SAILOR (15-1)
Owner: GMB Racing
Trainer: Thomas M. Amoss
Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr.

Owner: Robert C. Baker and William L. Mack
Trainer: D. Wayne Lukas 
Jockey: Luis Contreras

4 • DIAMOND KING (30-1)
Owner: Cash is King LLC, D.J. Stable LLC, LC Racing LLL
Trainer: John C. Servis
Jockey: Javier Castellano

5 • GOOD MAGIC (3-1) (runner up in the Derby)
Owner: eFive Racing Thoroughbreds and Stonestreet Stables
Trainer: Chad Brown
Jockey: Jose L. Ortiz

6 • TENFOLD (20-1)
Owner: Wind-chill Thoroughbreds LLC
Trainer:Steve M. Asmussen
Jockey: Ricardo Santana Jr

7 • JUSTIFY (1-2) (won Kentucky Derby)
Owner: China Horse Club International Ltd., Head of Plains Partners LLC, Starlight Racing, Winstar Farm
Trainer: Bob Baffert
Jockey: Mike E. Smith

8 • BRAVAZO (20-1)
Owner: Calumet Farm
Trainer: D. Wayne Lukas
Jockey: Luis Saez (?)

Justify's spot in the seventh gate puts him in the same start he had for the Kentucky Derby, which he won. Good Magic was the runner up in that race. 

Track conditions are expected to be wet and muddy, similar to the track at Churchill Downs