Margraff honored as AFCA Division III Coach of the Year

Posted at 5:44 AM, Jan 09, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-09 06:00:40-05

The late head coach of the Johns Hopkins University Football team is named Coach of the Year in Division III.

Jim Margraff was honored by the American Football Coaches Association Tuesday night in San Antonio. The winners were announced at the AFCA Awards at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas.

Margraff led Johns Hopkins to their best record in school history at 12-2. The team also made their first trip in school history to the Division III semifinals.

Margraff coached at Hopkins for 29 years. He passed away last week.

Margraff was 58 years old.

Other winners for each division include: Mike Leach (Washington State - Division I), Joe Harasymiak (Maine - FCS), Drew Cronic (Lenoir-Rhyne - Division II) and Steve Ryan (Morningside - NAIA).