SportsLocal Sports


Two Maryland athletes announced as recipients of Tewaaraton Award

Posted at 12:19 AM, May 31, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-31 08:19:45-04

An athlete from Loyola University Maryland and the University of Maryland were recognized as the most outstanding college lacrosse players of the year.

The Tewaarton Award which goes to the best in the sports went to Megan Taylor from Glenelg, who becomes the first goalie to ever win the award as she led Maryland to a National Championship.

On the men's side, form Loyola University Maryland, and four time MVP for the Loyola Greyhounds, Pat Spencer took the prestigious award home.

Spencer and Taylor received their trophy in a ceremony at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian.