SportsLocal Sports


Towson Athletic Director to serve as chair for NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee

Posted at 7:25 PM, Aug 26, 2019
and last updated 2019-08-26 21:10:20-04

TOWSON, Md. — Tim Leonard, Athletic Director for Towson University will be the chair of the NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Committee for the 2019-20 season, the NCAA announced on Monday.

The committee is made up of five members, including administrators and coaches. The committee determines the field of teams and bracket for the NCAA Tournament plus works to determine protocol and recommendations to the NCAA on the sport’s postseason.

Leonard will begin as chair on September 1.

He has been a Southeast Region representative ojn the committee for the past two season and his term is set to expire August 2020.

“I am honored to serve as the chair of the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Committee this season,” said Leonard. “Serving on the committee the past two years, I look forward to continuing the progress and tradition of the sport and working with the other members of the committee."

Leonard will take over for Jack Hayes, the Brown athletic director who served as chair for the 2018-19 season.