MLAX: Towson earns second-straight CAA title

Posted at 5:34 PM, May 07, 2016
and last updated 2016-05-07 21:41:26-04

The top-seeded Tigers outlasted Fairfield 4-2 in a defense battle Saturday to earn their second-straight CAA title. 

The game's six goals was the lowest scoring championship game in CAA history.

After a scoreless first quarter, Fairfield struck first with a goal from senior midfielder Charlie Schnider. The Stags increased their lead to 2 with a goal from sophomore Charlie Hornig. 

Keeping the Tigers scoreless, Fairfield led 2-0 at the half.

Something at halftime clicked. The Tigers came out of the locker room ready to go. Tyler Konen scored Towson's first goal of the game assisted by Spencer Parks, cutting the lead in half.

Ryan Drenner found Joe Seider who tied the game 2-2. Parks scored his 20th goal of the year to give the Tigers the lead in the third quarter. Parks scored again in the fourth to give Towson a two-goal lead. 

The Tiger's defense did the rest. They held Fairfield scoreless in the second half, securing the win. Tyler White had 15 saves. Senior defender Mike Lowe held CAA Co-Player of the Year and the conference's leading scorer, Colin Burke without a score. 

Towson earned its sixth CAA Championship, the most of any other team in the league. 

Four Tigers were named to the CAA  Lacrosse Championship All-Tournament Team

  • Mike Lowe, senior defender (Most Outstanding Player)
  • Tyler White, senior goalie
  • Nick Gorman, senior defender
  • Spencer Parks, senior attacker

With the title, Towson gets an automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. The NCAA Selection Show is Sunday at 9 p.m. on ESPNU.