Terps end championship drought, defeat Ohio State

Posted at 3:38 PM, May 29, 2017
and last updated 2017-05-29 17:52:39-04

The Terps have won their first NCAA men's lacrosse title in 42 years. 

Maryland defeated Big 10 rival, Ohio State 9-6 Monday in Foxboro, Massachusetts. 

The Terps have been to the Final Four the past four years, coming short of a title in the past two championship games. Head coach John Tillman has led the Terps to six NCAA semifinals and four title games in his 10 years at the helm.

Maryland last won the national championship in 1975 when they defeated Navy at Homewood Field on the campus of Johns Hopkins University. 

The women's lacrosse team also won the national title, making it the second year in a row that one school took home both the men's and women's NCAA lacrosse championships. Last year, the University of North Carolina swept the finals.