Opening Day presidential pitches

Posted at 10:45 PM, Apr 01, 2016

Since 1910, every president except Jimmy Carter has thrown the ceremonial first pitch to open a season at least once during his presidency. 

President William Howard Taft began the tradition. He threw a baseball from the stands at Washington, D.C.'s Griffith Stadium and the rest is history. 

See also: Orioles Opening Day Trivia

Three U.S. presidents have begun an Orioles' regular season with the ceremonial first pitch. Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Bush and Bill Clinton each threw two ceremonial first pitches at Opening Day.

  • Ronald Reagan - Memorial Stadium - April 2, 1984 v. Chicago White Sox
  • Ronald Reagan - Memorial Stadium - April 7, 1986 v. Cleveland Indians
  • George H. W. Bush - Memorial Stadium - April 3, 1989 v. Boston Red Sox
  • George H. W. Bush - Camden Yards - April 6, 1992 v. Cleveland Indians
  • Bill Clinton - Camden Yards - April 5, 1993 v. Texas Rangers
  • Bill Clinton - Camden Yards - April 2, 1996 v. Kansas City Royals

Several fictional presidents have also thrown the first pitch including President Frank Underwood (Kevin Spacey) and President Bill Mitchell (Kevin Kline). 

Related: Gallery: Orioles Famous First Pitches

Monday is an unofficial holiday for Baltimore and although thousands will be packing Oriole Park at Camden Yards, they won't see a president throw the first pitch.

Instead, former Orioles catcher Rick Dempsey and state senator Bobby Zirkin will do the honors. Dempsey is celebrating 50 years in professional baseball. 

The Orioles open the season against the Twins Monday April 4 at 3:05 p.m.