NewsLocal News


8 Baltimore County schools closed Thursday due to lack of A/C, Dozens of City schools to dismiss early

Water main breaks cancel after school activities at four Baltimore County Schools
Posted at 6:58 PM, Sep 11, 2019
and last updated 2019-09-12 15:08:47-04

BALTIMORE — Due to impending excessive heat, several schools across Baltimore County will be closing on Thursday. Dozens of schools in Baltimore City will be dismissing 3-hours early Thursday.

Baltimore County Schools announced they will be closing all non air-conditioned facilities Thursday.

The following schools will be closed:

  • Bedford Elementary
  • Berkshire Elementary
  • Campfield Early Learning Center
  • Catonsville Center for Alternative Studies
  • Colgate Elementary
  • Dulaney High
  • Lansdowne High
  • Watershed Public Charter School

Due to the temperature, the following Baltimore City schools without AC will also be dismissing 3 hours early Thursday:

  • Angela Y. Davis Leadership Academy
  • Augusta Fells Savage Institute
  • Baltimore City College
  • Baltimore Design School
  • Baltimore Polytechnic Institute
  • Bay-Brook Elementary/Middle School
  • Belmont Elementary School
  • Benjamin Franklin High School at Masonville Cove
  • Bluford Drew Jemison STEM Academy West
  • Booker T. Washington Middle School
  • Calverton Elementary/Middle School
  • City Springs Elementary/Middle School
  • Collington Square Elementary/Middle School
  • Cross Country Elementary/Middle School
  • Curtis Bay Elementary/Middle School
  • Dickey Hill Elementary/Middle School
  • Edgecombe Circle Elementary School
  • Edgewood Elementary School
  • Edmondson-Westside High School
  • Eutaw-Marshburn Elementary School
  • Franklin Square Elementary/Middle School
  • Frederick Douglass High School
  • Furley Elementary School
  • George Washington Elementary School
  • Graceland Park/O'Donnell Heights Elementary Middle School
  • Guilford Elementary/Middle School
  • Harlem Park Elementary/Middle School
  • Hazelwood Elementary/Middle School
  • Hilton Elementary School
  • The Historic Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Elementary School
  • Holabird Elementary/Middle School
  • Johnston Square Elementary School
  • Matthew A. Henson Elementary School
  • Mount Royal Elementary/Middle School
  • National Academy Foundation
  • New Era Academy
  • Northwood Elementary School
  • Patterson High School
  • Renaissance Academy
  • Robert W. Coleman Elementary School
  • Southwest Baltimore Charter School
  • Thomas Jefferson Elementary/Middle School
  • Vanguard Collegiate Middle School
  • Vivien T. Thomas Medical Arts Academy
  • Walter P. Carter Elementary/Middle School
  • Western High School
  • William S. Baer School
  • Windsor Hills Elementary/Middle School
  • Yorkwood Elementary School
  • Baltimore International Academy West
  • Baltimore Montessori Public Charter School
  • Empowerment Academy
  • Midtown Academy
  • The Mount Washington School (lower building)
  • Youth Opportunity

A list of schools without AC in Baltimore City, click here.