Recipients of 2019 Van Hollen Public Service Award announced

Sen. Van Hollen to visit UMES
Posted at 4:06 PM, Jun 24, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-25 10:17:14-04

WASHINGTON, DC — Recipients of the 2019 Van Hollen Public Service Award were announced on Monday commending seniors who have demonstrated a high level of commitment to their community or public service.

“It’s important that we recognize students not only for their academic and athletic successes, but also for their work in the community. Each of these students has demonstrated their commitment to serving our communities, and I am proud to honor their hard work and dedication. I look forward to seeing the great things the future has in store for these young leaders, as they continue their efforts to make an impact,” said Senator Van Hollen

Local recipients are listed below:

  • Sarah E. Coffman • Mercy High School • Baltimore
  • Jonathan English • Paul Laurence Dunbar High School • Baltimore
  • Ruben Amaya • Franklin High School • Reistertown, Md.
  • Kobe Morrison • City Neighbors High School • Baltimore
  • Kira Jessup • Baltimore City College • Baltimore
  • Desmond Holder Billups • George W. F McMechen High School • Baltimore
  • Mofeed Nagib • Towson High School • Towson, Md.
  • Josiah Gaddis • Greater Grace Christian Academy • Baltimore
  • Samuel Wilson • Eastern Technical High School • Essex, Md.
  • Britney Melisa Amaya • Overlea High School • Baltimore
  • John Matthew Moses • Calvert Hall College High School • Towson, Md.
  • Alexander Connor Willis • The Harbour School at Baltimore • Owings Mills, Md.
  • Mahdia Azizi • St. Timothy's School • Stevenson, Md.
  • Benjamin W. Pugh • McDonogh School • Owings Mills, Md.
  • Morgan Pennick • Archbishop Spalding High School • Severn, Md.
  • Morgan Suchin • Pikesville High School • Baltimore
  • Olivia Wikstrom • Loch Raven High School • Baltimore
  • Maura McCarthy • Institute of Notre Dame • Baltimore
  • Samantha Wilson • Kenwood High School • Baltimore
  • Christen Gibson • Western School of Technology and Environmental Science • Baltimore
  • Hanna Elizabeth • Thomas Maryvale Preparatory School • Lutherville, Md.
  • Grace Koski • Perry Hill Christian School • Perry Hall, Md.
  • Isaiah Farmer • Owings Mills High School • Owings Mills, Md.