Morgan State University designated as 2020 early voting, election day voting center

Posted at 4:24 PM, Sep 22, 2020
and last updated 2020-09-23 07:27:42-04

BALTIMORE — Baltimore City Board of Elections (BOE) has designated Morgan State University’s Edward P. Hurt Gymnasium as an early voting and election day voting center.

Beginning on Monday, Oct. 26, through Monday, Nov. 2, citizens registered to vote in Baltimore City can take advantage of early voting on Morgan’s campus in Northeast Baltimore.

The Hurt Gymnasium will be one of only eight locations designated as an early voting site throughout the city.

Additionally, on Tuesday, Nov. 3, Morgan will serve as an official election day site along with 23 other city-wide locations. Throughout all of the dates, the Hurt Gymnasium will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

From Sept. 28-30, Morgan’s campus will also serve as a ballot drop box location, where people who request an absentee or mail-in ballot can choose to drop it off.

The drop box will be located along the driveway at the front of the newly constructed Tyler Hall at the intersection of Cold Spring Lane and Hillen Road.

An officer will be stationed at the drop box location to ensure its integrity.

While Morgan will serve as an official voting center, the Baltimore City Board of Elections will provide election judges and staff to conduct all election activities inside Hurt Gymnasium.

Morgan’s election day planning committee is working with the BOE to post signage to assist prospective voters and will also assist in recruiting election judges.

All election judges and team staffers will be required to utilize personal protective equipment (PPE) supplied by the BOE.

To further ensure the safety of in-person voting, voters will be required to remain six feet apart and wear a mask.

Please be advised that in order to maintain proper distancing, the number of voters permitted inside Hurt Gymnasium at one time may be limited and may potentially result in lines and longer wait times.

The deadline to register to vote in Maryland is Oct. 13.