NewsCarroll County


Carroll County science teacher to receive Presidential Award for Excellence

Denise Kresslein
Posted at 1:22 PM, Oct 21, 2019
and last updated 2019-10-21 13:22:45-04

WESTMINSTER, Md. (WMAR) — A Carroll County life science teacher has been chosen for a Presidential Award for excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Denise Kresslein teaches at North Carroll Middle School, and has been with the school system since 1996.

Kresslein is also tasked with writing the curriculum for middle school science department's in the county, and serves on several Maryland State Department of Education committees.

The award Kresslien will receive is through the National Science Foundation on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Prior to Kresslien being named the winner, Noah Scholl, another Carroll County science teacher at Mt. Airy Middle School had also been a finalist for the award.

An awards ceremony will be announced at a later date, where Kresslein will receive a signed citation from President Donald J. Trump and $10,000.00 from the National Science Foundation.