NewsLocal News


Maryland Department of Agriculture expands spotted lanternfly quarantine zone

Spotted Lanternfly
Posted at 6:22 AM, Mar 07, 2023
and last updated 2023-03-07 08:44:10-05

ANNAPOLIS, Md. — Be on the lookout for spotted lanternflies.

Maryland's Department of Agriculture is expanding its lanternfly quarantine to include every Maryland county - except six on the edge of the state.

The quarantine includes the following counties: Allegany, Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Calvert, Caroline, Carroll, Cecil, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Kent, Montgomery, Prince George’s, Queen Anne’s, Talbot, Washington and Wicomico, as well as Baltimore City.

cesar graphic.png

The quarantine means you can't move certain things across county lines -like some plants, construction equipment, crates, boxes and gardening equipment.

The spotted lanternfly poses a major threat to the region’s agricultural industries as it feeds on over 70 different types of crops and plants.

It was first detected in Berks County, Pennsylvania in fall 2014 before being spotted 8 more states.